Brief History of SAPBA

The official founding date of the SAPBA is documented as 19 March 1989. It developed out of the amalgamation of three existing associations with specific mandates, viz.:

  • The Maize Breeder’s Association, which was founded in 1974 as an initiative of the Summer Grain Centre, Potchefstroom (currently ARC-Grain Crops Institute), with the main aim of sharing information regarding maize breeding technology, but this was later extended also to include other grain and oil seed crops. These symposia were held biennially alternating between Cedara and Potchefstroom;
  • The Southern African Plant Breeders’ Association, which was an association of all private plant breeders in South Africa, and which met at regular intervals to share information regarding progress with breeding methodology and strategy;
  • FX Laubscher Symposia, an initiative of the Department of Genetics, University of Stellenbosch, held in honour of the revered Professor of Genetics, FX Laubscher. These symposia served as academic fora to debate the latest advances in the fields of all genetic disciplines (quantitative genetics and cytology), all crops, animals, aquaculture, Drosophila related research, human genetics and cyto-genetics.

Due to the fact that the new Southern African Plant Breeders’ Association (SAPBA) developed from three separate organizations, it had to redefine itself and compile a new constitution, codes of conduct regarding its finances, membership, etc. The SAPBA initially functioned under the umbrella of the South African Crop Production Society (from 1992-1994) until it could function as an independent Association in 1996. Due to lapse in time from the original founding of the SAPBA in 1989, and the ultimate independence in 1996 certain venues, Presidents and honorary members were initially omitted, but now form part of the actual chronology of this organization.

*Complied by Prof Klaus W Pakendorf, Stellenbosch, December 2011

President of the SAPBA and Venues for Symposia

Number Year  President Venue
*2 1992 Dr KW Pakendorf Stellenbosch
*2 1994 Prof CS van Deventer Cedara
 1 1996 Dr HA van Niekerk Potchefstroom
 2 1998 Dr SW Nelson Golden Gate
 3 2000 Prof KW Pakendorf Harare
 4 2002 Prof M Labuschagne Gordon's Bay
 5 2004 Dr Danie Theunissen San Lameer
 6 2006 Dr Francois Koekemoer Club Mykonos
 7 2008 JD Rossouw Alpine Heath
 8 2010 WC Botes Spier, Stellenbosch
 9 2012 Prof Liezel Herselman Kruger Gate
10 2014 Prof Liezel Herselman The Maria Moroko Nature Reserve
11 2016 WC Botes Protea Hotel, Stellenbosch
12 2018 Elizma Joubert Gateway Hotel, Umhlanga
13 2020 Driaan Bresler Future Africa Campus

Honourary Members

Prof R deV Pienaar (Rous) 1992   *2
Dr HO Gevers (Hans) 1994 *2
Dr SW Nelson (Pip) 1996
Dr BE Eisenberg (Ben) 1998 *2
Dr HA van Niekerk (Hugo) 2002
SW Walters (Boet) 2006
Dr Neville Dennison 2008
Dr AJ Liebenberg (Andries) 2010

Prof PM le Roux (Mof) 1992 *2
I Jarvie (Ian) 1996
JB McOnie (John) 1998 *2
Prof KW Pakendorf (Klaus) 2002
Dr H Kaiser (Heinz) 2004
Dr F du Toit  (Francois) 2006
Joseph Tattersfield (Rex) 2010
Dr Bart Lombard (2012)

*1 Compiled by Prof Klaus W Pakendorf, Stellenbosch, December 2011
*2 Prior to acceptance of constitution of SAPBA

SAPBA Constitution

Download the Constitution of the Southern African Plant Breeders' Association.​
Download Here